Autor Thema: Newbie Looking for help/tutorial  (Gelesen 26278 mal)

Offline cozz3

• Jungbrut
  • My/Mein Echo Equipment: Elite-5 Chirp, IMC
Newbie Looking for help/tutorial
« am: 08 Februar 2017, 23:32:33 »
Hey everyone, I am completely new to IMC and map making.   We are heading to a remote location in Canada this year and after 30 hours of failure I cannot figure out how to build a very basic map that will display in my Lowrance Elite 5 chirp. My primary objective is to use the map to navigate the lake and record my sonar during the trip.

I can download what I believe are shape files from http://atlas.nrcan.gc.ca/toporama/en/index.html. I'm trying to cover Lake Windermere in Ontario.  After I downloaded the files i converted the .shp files to wg84 with Qgis per the IMC instructions document.  The went to IMC and added the shape files.  In attribute mode I set u_limit to 19 and l_Limit to 0.  New shape files were created which I then went back to vector mode and added the newly created shape files then clicked build and one large.at5 file was created. 

Again I'm new to this and willing to put in the time to learn but after scouring the web for help I can't figure out how to troubleshoot.  Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Offline fjordfischer

• Moby Dick
  • My/Mein Echo Equipment: HDS-7 Carbon, HDS-7 G3, HDS-7 G2, SS3D, echoMAP-71sv
Re: Newbie Looking for help/tutorial
« Antwort #1 am: 09 Februar 2017, 12:33:11 »
U_Limit and L_Limit is not sufficient. You need more attributes.

For more informations it was helpful, if you save your files as *.zip file, rename to *.zi_ and set to this forum posts, or you use the forum mail address from the impressum site for ship.

Offline gregory

• Insight Map Creator
« Antwort #2 am: 09 Februar 2017, 16:33:01 »
For area features, COLOR (and/or CLRRGB on units that support it) is also required.  Without a specified color, your area features will be rendering transparent.

Offline cozz3

• Jungbrut